Reduced Waiting Period for Divorce without Consent Becomes Law December 3, 2016
Last month, Pennsylvania Governor Tom Wolf signed a bill into law that would reduce the waiting period for those seeking divorce without their spouse’s consent from two years to one. There are, however, some exceptions. For instance, if one spouse has an abuse conviction, the other spouse only needs to wait 90 days to move forward with nonconsensual divorce proceedings. Also, a waiting period is waived if one spouse has been confined to a mental hospital for the last 18 months and is expected to remain confined for 18 more months. The law will be going into effect statewide December 3, 2016.
The Divorce Code was initially passed in 1980 and was meant to give couples time to reconcile their marriage before pulling the plug. The initial waiting period at the time was three years, but it was reduced to two years in 1988. If you are considering ending your marriage and your spouse is not cooperating, or, if you are dealing with an abusive partner, you need to speak with an experienced divorce attorney. The Ardmore Law Offices of Sheryl R. Rentz, P.C. can answer any questions you may have and represent you during your divorce proceedings. Ms. Rentz has been successfully representing Pennsylvania divorce clients for over a quarter of a century and she will use that experience on your case. Call (610) 645-0100 today for a free case evaluation.
We know your problems are unique & special.
Call us, we will listen.