We Will Guide you

We will guide you step-by-step
through this difficult process.

Free Initial Consultation (866) 290-9292
blog home Alimony Understanding Alimony in Pennsylvania

Understanding Alimony in Pennsylvania

By Sheryl Rentz on November 9, 2011

Alimony, also sometimes referred to as spousal support or maintenance, is handled a little differently in Pennsylvania as opposed to other states. Once a divorce decree has been entered, the court may reasonably allow alimony, but only if it is considered necessary. There are four types of alimony in Pennsylvania: 1) Permanent; 2) Rehabilitative; 3) Limited Duration; and 4) Reimbursement. Whether a court considers one of these types necessary is determined by a number of factors, including, but not limited to:

  • Earnings of both spouses;
  • Ages and physical, emotional, and mental conditions of both spouses;
  • Sources of income of both spouses;
  • Inheritances and expectancies of both spouses;
  • Marriage duration;
  • Contribution of one spouse to the training, education, or increased earning power of the other;
  • Standard of living during the marriage;
  • Relative education of both spouses and the time necessary to further education or training for the spouse seeking alimony to get a job;
  • Liabilities and assets of both spouses;
  • Contribution of a spouse as a homemaker;
  • Any marital misconduct of either spouse during the marriage; and
  • Tax ramifications of the alimony award.

Alimony can be a very sensitive subject between spouses. Although the court takes many factors into account before awarding alimony, it is possible that the arrangement creates additional disputes. Mediation may offer both parties the opportunity to come to an agreement themselves; however, this is not always a viable option.

If you are getting a divorce in Pennsylvania, experienced family law attorney in Delaware County Sheryl R. Rentz, can help you understand alimony, as well as all other divorce-related matters. To learn more, call (866) 290-9292 today for a consultation.

Related Articles:

We know your problems are unique & special.
Call us, we will listen.

Contact Us

Our team is ready to help. Start off your case with a no-cost consultation by calling our office today at (866) 290-9292 or by completing the following form.

Phone (optional):

Law Office of Sheryl L. Rentz

326 W Lancaster Ave, Suite 100
Ardmore, Pennsylvania 19003

Phone: (610) 645-0100
Toll-free: (866) 290-9292
Fax: (610) 645-0111

Phone (optional):

Montgomery County Divorce Attorney Disclaimer: The divorce, visitation, child support, child custody, spousal support, or other family law legal information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer or attorney client relationship. Any results set forth here were dependent on the facts of that case and the results will differ from case to case. Please contact an attorney at our law firm office. This web site is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the State of Pennsylvania.

© 2022 Law Offices of Sheryl R. Rentz. Serving Chester County, Montgomery County, & all counties in Pennsylvania.

Website Design, SEO and Legal Internet Marketing by: SLS Consulting


Read Our Important Announcement About COVID-19

Dear valued clients, we are opening Monday, June 8th, but everyone must wear masks. For the safety of the community, we continue to encourage meetings either over the phone or by Zoom.

Schedule My Consultation